Recherche

Building Connections: Innovative Organizations Towards Greater Affordability of Cohousing Development Across Canada

Le CCN a réussi à obtenir une autre subvention de lancement de carrière du gouvernement du Canada en 2022 pour poursuivre la recherche sur les options d'habitation communautaire abordable. L'objectif du projet de recherche était d'identifier et de créer une liste de ressources d'organisations qui peuvent soutenir la création d'aménagements d'habitation communautaire abordables au Canada. Ces organisations pourraient agir en tant que partenaires ou contributeurs financiers (en accordant des subventions et/ou des prêts) aux projets de développement de l'habitation communautaire. (disponible uniquement en anglais)

Download PDF Document ›


Lessons from the UK

En novembre 2021, le CCN a réussi à obtenir une subvention du gouvernement canadien pour financer un rapport de recherche visant à explorer le système de réseau national du Royaume-Uni, qui a bénéficié d'un soutien et d'un financement accrus de la part du gouvernement en faveur de l'habitation communautaire. Ce rapport fournit des informations sur certains des progrès réalisés et propose des recommandations sur les meilleures pratiques que le Canada peut adopter pour aider un plus grand nombre de groupes à former leurs propres communautés. (disponible uniquement en anglais)

Download PDF Document ›


The Best Place to Be? Experience of Older Adults Living in Canadian Cohousing Communities During the COVID 19 Pandemic

L'objectif de cette étude était de connaître les expériences des personnes âgées vivant dans un immeuble d'habitation communautaire pendant la pandémie de COVID-19. Dans le cadre de cette étude exploratoire qualitative, 13 participants vivant dans des cohabitations canadiennes ont été interrogés entre octobre 2021 et janvier 2022. L'un des principaux défis identifiés concernait le fait que certains membres de la communauté ne choisissaient pas de se faire vacciner contre la grippe aviaire de type 19. Le rapport identifie de nombreux impacts positifs, notamment l'infrastructure sociale, les possibilités d'engagement social continu et la conception physique des espaces intérieurs et extérieurs partagés, qui ont été bénéfiques pour le bien-être physique et mental des adultes plus âgés pendant la pandémie de COVID-19. (disponible uniquement en anglais)

Download PDF Document ›

English
Powered by TranslatePress
Scroll to Top

Research

Building Connections: Innovative Organizations Towards Greater Affordability of Cohousing Development Across Canada

The CCN was successful at securing another Government of Canada Career Launcher grant in 2022 to continue with the research on affordable cohousing options. The focus of the research project was to identify and create a resource list of organizations that can support the creation of affordable cohousing in Canada. These organizations could act as partners or financial contributors (providing grants and/or loans) to cohousing development projects.

Download PDF Document ›


Lessons from the UK

In November 2021, the CCN was successful at securing a grant through the Canadian government to fund a research report to explore the United Kingdom’s national network system that has seen increased government support and funding for cohousing. This report provides information about some of the progress that has been made, and suggests recommendations on best practices that Canada can adopt to help more groups form their own communities.

Download PDF Document ›


The Best Place to Be? Experience of Older Adults Living in Canadian Cohousing Communities During the COVID 19 Pandemic

The objective of this study was to learn about the experiences of older adults living in a cohousing community during the COVID-19 pandemic. In this qualitative exploratory study, 13 participants living in Canadian cohousing communities were interviewed between October 2021 and January 2022. One key challenge identified focused on some community members not choosing to be vaccinated for COVID-19. The report identifies many positive impacts including the social infrastructure, opportunities for ongoing social engagement, and the physical design of shared indoor and outdoor spaces were beneficial to the physical and mental well-being for older adults during the COVID-19 pandemic.

Download PDF Document ›

Français
Powered by TranslatePress
Scroll to Top